DF ⁄ Prix Schellenberg ⁄ Arber
Third-party funded project
Project title DF ⁄ Prix Schellenberg ⁄ Arber
Principal Investigator(s) Arber, Silvia
Project Members Sigrist, Markus
Lee, Jun
Stepien, Anna
Jean-Xavier, Céline Michèle
Tripodi, Marco
Esposito, Maria Soledad
Gürler, Sibel
Organisation / Research unit Departement Biozentrum / Cell Biology (Arber)
Project start 01.02.2006
Probable end 31.12.2008
Status Completed

Press release


Paraplegia – Award of the Schellenberg Research Prize

Swiss Women Share 2005 Prize


Geneva and Lausanne, 12th September 2005 – The 2005 Schellenberg Research Prize was awarded today to two Swiss researchers: Professor Silvia Arber, who teaches at the University of Basel, and Professor Brigitte Schürch of Zurich University. Professor Arber’s fundamental research has excited great interest among the scientific community while Professor Shürch’s work has initiated new therapies. The two winners will share the Sfrs. 100’000 prize, enabling them to continue their researches.


As a neurobiologist specialising in embryonic development, Professor Arber’s basic research has improved understanding of the mechanisms governing the establishment of neural circuitry in the spinal cord which controls reflex movements. Professor Schürch is a neuro-urologist attached to theUniversity Centre of Balgrist which is dedicated to the treatment of paraplegics. She has distinguished herself by proposing effective treatments for urinary problems frequently associated with this pathology. The Prize is awarded annually by the IRP Foundation – International Institute for Research into Paraplegia with the aim of supporting research into this incapacitating condition, the result of spinal fracture and the very limited healing ability of the spinal cord. For this reason, paraplegia is still, at the present time, incurable. The 2005 Schellenberg Prize will be officially presented in Geneva on 23rd November, 2005 during a public ceremony at the Jeantet Medical Foundation. The award winners have been designated by the IRP Foundation’s Council on the advice of a jury presided by Dr Jean-Jacques Dreifuss, Honorary Professor at Geneva University. [End of press release]

Financed by Other sources

MCSS v5.8 PRO. 0.490 sec, queries - 0.000 sec ©Universität Basel  |  Impressum   |